By docshiv
I've never built any props before this. I'm working my way up to a pack, but thought it wise to start small.

I made these following Norm's plans with a little tweak of my own here and there.

Comments and constructive criticism are most welcome.

By docshiv
CAHighwind wrote:I like those LEDs... nice touch.
Thank you! I've never wired jack before, so I was just happy it worked!
jettajeffro wrote: The look great. Did you think about taking the lift up slide portion out and gluing the plate with the lenses onto the frame themselves? I did that and it made the googles alot lighter.
Thanks! I had considered it, but I needed the room for the wiring and battery. Plus, I just thought it looked cooler with the lift up portion.
By jettajeffro
jettajeffro wrote: The look great. Did you think about taking the lift up slide portion out and gluing the plate with the lenses onto the frame themselves? I did that and it made the googles alot lighter.
Thanks! I had considered it, but I needed the room for the wiring and battery. Plus, I just thought it looked cooler with the lift up portion.[/quote]

I thought that might be where you were keeping all of it. I only recently decided to take the glass piece out. That made another huge difference.
By docshiv
jettajeffro wrote:I thought that might be where you were keeping all of it. I only recently decided to take the glass piece out. That made another huge difference.
The weight is a bit of an issue. I still need to add the strap on top. That should make all the difference.
By docshiv
AuroraGB wrote:Ok Quick question, how did you glue on the eye pieces?
I shaved two sides of my bushings down with my sander so that I could fit them into the inset piece of the flip-up visor. This allowed more surface area for the Gorilla Glue to grab the plastic eye shield.