By Donkey8012
I have been running regular-grade gas in my Ecto, and I have been getting a significant ammount of after-fire and it has even back-fired a few times. Now, because of a massive back-fire the other day, I have to replace my exhaust pipe and muffler. I have very little experience with cars this old (1967 Bonneville with a 400ci engine) so I am clueless as to how to fix this.

For those of you with older-model cars, what grade of gas should I be using? Is it even a gas problem at all? If I start using premium, will it fix this? I know that gas regulations were alot different when this car came off the line. Any help would definitely be appreciated.
By Boomerjinks
Zach Helm has a 70s Cadillac and it MUST take 93 to run properly.

I would never have guessed that an older car would need a higher octane, but that might be your problem.
By Chace
I've owned 8 hearses and every one ran like crap on regular gas you wanna use 93 and if possible without ethanol added as the ethanol is hard on older gaskets
By 69428scj
94 was the lowest grade leaded gasoline available back when our cars were new. So you will need to run 93 at a minimum. Be prepared to rebuild your fuel pump so that the unleaded gasoline won't eat through the gasket inside. You can find modern rebuild kits on ebay, I just bought one for my 59.
By Donkey8012
I actually already replaced the fuel pump, but thanks for the heads-up. Would adding octane booster to the fuel be ok to do? I only ask because it has 89 in it right now.
By Donkey8012
Here's what the back-fire did to my muffler:

By Mxlplx
I ran a lead additive through my 59's with every tank full.
Just pick it up from your local Auto Zone or car parts store.
The UN leaded gasoline will eventually cause havoc on the old engines, unless you specifically rebuild them to run with Unleaded.
By Mr. D.