Hello everyone,

This is my first attempt at building a Proton Gun so bear with me. Feedback is definitely appreciated!

1. To begin with, I purchased ThrowingChicken's Gun Kit v3.0. After drilling out some of the holes, I spray painted everything using "Krylon: Bright Metallic Finish". Once the gun is assembled, I'll finish it with the Black Satin and Flat.

2. Once the pieces dried, I attached the rear cylinder using a 10-24 x 3/4" screw.

3. Next I added the rear handle using a 9 1/2 inch, 1-1/4" OD x 1.010 ID x .120" Wall 6061-T6 Aluminum Tube from Speedy Metals (www.speedymetals.com). I cut the tip to open up some space in the gun and then superglued it in place.

*Lucky for me, JOE LUNA from the "Ghostbusters of So Cal" informed me that my rear handle was a half inch too long. He also mentioned that my rear handle positioning was partially blocking the box light openings to a degree. Needless to say, I made the corrections.

That's it for tonight! More to come soon! :cool:
Lookin good so far dude. You'll have this knocked out in no time.
Thanks man! I'm definitely making an investment in an electrical saw... Possibly a dremel. That small hand one was killing me. I probably should have cut more piping off the rear grip in the body to open up more space. I'm hoping that decision doesn't come back to bite me when I start installing all of the circuitry.
You should be okay, depending on how much you want to cram in there. On my thrower, starting from the vents and heading back towards the bottom opening, I have the reflector for the vent lights, a bunch of cables crammed together, the Heavy Props light board, then my prototype extension system. The extra bit of metal you have there probably would not interfere with any of these.
So after measuring 3/4's of an inch from the instrument box, I added the rear grip using super glue and 2 allen head bolts:

I also drilled a hole from the instrument box into the body of the gun: