I am a newbie here..."long time GB fan, first time listener". ;)
About a month ago, I was contemplating building a GB costume complete with Proton pack...Halloween was my excuse, but I have wanted one forever. I looked online and saw a youtube video where a guy built one from electric boxes and stuff...looked super easy and turned out pretty good. I thought, "I can totally do that in a weekend!!!"

Then...I discovered this site with tons of pics and detailed plans, etc.
You guys ruined my life!;)
What started out as a simple build became a monster! I couldn't be happy with electric boxes after seeing all your packs!!!! I now needed mine to be at least fairly accurate!!!!!

And thus began my journey in my custom build. I opted to use a combo of foam, styrene, and misc. My home is a wreck, I have spent a ton of time and money, my hands are covered in paint...and after working on it for a few hours a day over a month...I am still not quite done. However...the end is in sight and I think I only have a few days left! Just in time for Halloween!!!! Hooray!!!

Here are some photos from my journey so far:
First step was building the main proton pack parts...I opted for foam, because I wanted to practice working with it.

I failed to take many pics of the rest, but here is where I am currently at with the pack...
The bumper was a pain...but I think it turned out pretty good.
The gun mount box is not done yet, that is just a cardboard box I put in place for my reference.

Next, the gun...out of styrene.
Was pretty happy that I was able to get the curve in there...this was my first time working with styrene.
I just finished that gun parts and painted it earlier today!

I may have been distracted and built a Ghost Trap along the way...but I guess that should eventually get it's own thread?

Anyway...thanks to this great community for all the helpful tips and info! I will update with more in the next few days.