So I've been toiling away on this sucker for a few months now. At first I was trying to build a budget pack inspired by Gareee using electrical boxes & hardware. I was impressed by how they looked & loved the idea of having a proton pack that wouldn't cripple my family financially. Image
I was pretty stoked about how it was coming together until I noticed that all the boxes I had bought were too shallow & that if I built up the cyclotron to the right dimensions the pack would look all wrong. Image
I could've let it go & soldiered on, but my OCD tendencies roared to life & was about to scrap the whole idea & just focus on the uniform instead.
Then I stumbled across Lordgilpin's foam core thread. FOAM CORE! "Perfect!" I thought to myself. Another budget solution to building a close enough to screen accurate pack. I could do that! How hard could it be?
More the fool, I.
I just want to say how impressed I am by all of you Ghostheads who have taken on the Herculean task of scratch building one of these pigs. Be it out of MDF, electrical boxes, foam core, EVA foam or paper mâché - you're all insane artists & crafts people & I bow down to you all.
So I went out & bought a crap ton of said foam core, a few hobby knives, glue & a cutting board and got to work. This thing may well be the death of me.
This all happened in August before a road trip to Edmonton where I was doing a show. While in Edmonton I got to work on the positron collider using sintra provided to me by the props department at The Citadel Theatre! Image
ImageImage
I also built the booster frame out of foam core. ImageImageImageImage
When I got back a couple of weeks ago, I started putting all the pieces together. Image
I found I wasn't happy with the MDF top of the spacer. So I replaced it with foam core! Image
Then I wasn't happy with the shitty cake pan I got from the dollar store. So guess what? More FOAM CORE!!! ImageImageImageImageImageImage