TL;DR at bottom.
So I'm pretty new to both electronics and Arduino coding. I am helping a friend with his reboot pack build, and while he does the crafting work I offered to help with the light programming. I got the hardware part figured out very quickly, the code, however, is a bit more troublesome.

He initially ordered 2 Arduinos and some NeoPixel Ring Lights (60 LED) + Jewel (7 LED) and the 7 segment LED's from GhostLab42 (viewtopic.php?f=31&t=41215).

I got the 7segment lights working nearly without issue. However I would LIKE to add a switch to it that allows it to switch from like the scrolling code to the counting code, and also have it display random numbers while scrolling.

I got the NeoPixel lights hooked up and with the example code I know they work. The NeoPixel lights have an example library but does a poor job explaining itself. I just want to have it so I can have a switch from pulsing lights to scrolling/chasing lights (Neither of which I have good code for) and maybe a rainbow startup.

A (probably farfetched) desire is to have all this code running on ONE arduino. If anyone knows how to make this happen let me know. We have a second board ANYWAYS so no big deal if this isn't possible.

TL;DR:
-Need code to have a switch to swap codings on 7 segment displays
-Need NeoPixel Code for movie-like effects
-Want to run all code from one arduino if possible (I have 2 anyways)

Literally any help is appreciated and may help any others who cannot code very well, like myself. I will credit people in the code as well!
I am gonna be breaking posts down into smaller thoughts and such. That way I don't have to write a book and we can discuss as we go.

First I am not a pro by any means. I have successfully coded scrolling and rainbow as you mentioned. I put them on an adafruit gemma board.