Discuss all things Ghostbusters here, unless they would be better suited in one of the few forums below.
Has anyone ever been hassled over playing Ghostbusters music at public events? Our local comic con just warned us that "Any booth that plays music without proper licensing is at risk of ASCAP fining them from several to tens of thousands of dollars." As I understand it, this falls under the public performance copyright law, so I understand why they are warning us about this.

For those who don't know, ASCAP and BMI are like the "Walter Peck" of the songwriting and music composition industry.

Aside from that, I'm mostly just curious if any GB folks have ever had to deal with this. For me, bustin' without the theme song just feels...empty, y'know?
Here's my two cents. A) Keep in mind I'm no legal expert, and B) I'm from Canada and copyright stuff is a bit different here.

First off, you'd need someone who works with ASCAP or is close to the artist to A) be at the event and B) care that you might be using the song without the proper public performance rights. If no-one's there, or no-one cares, to "tell-on-you" you're not in trouble.

Secondly, it's my understanding that those groups aren't able to enforce copyright on the spot, but simply inform the violator of their misdeed and then the artist of the violation and recommend that the artist press charges or whatever.

All of this is to say that if you're playing the Ghostbusters theme from your proton pack or an Ecto-mobile or a stereo at a con in support of your activities as The Ghostbusters of Salt Lake, I can't imagine GhostCorps giving a rodent's rear that you're doing it without public performance rights, especially if you're an accredited franchise; to them it'd be part of the free brand promotion that the ghosthead community does daily.