Discuss all things Ghostbusters here, unless they would be better suited in one of the few forums below.
All,

Recently on the Ghostbusters Franchises Worldwide group on Facebook, there's a fear that if you own Spirit equipment that the "Elites" or "haters" are going to just appear and degrade and insult you for owning the Spirit stuff. I don't understand where this perception started? I've been part of this fandom since '05, I'm a seasoned builder and have been around numerous groups and GB events and never once saw or heard anyone tear down another cosplayers equipment. The problem is that this "fear" is gaining traction so much that builders and screen accuracy folks are getting lumped into the elites/haters crowd. Does any one have any basis on where this started? I've pointed out to some of this Spirit crowd that without those that populate this very forum who were pioneers in measurements and tracking down the correct parts and fittings and made it so the fandom could have easily accessible light kits and ribbon cables and such that the Spirit equipment wouldn't exist or be as decent as it is. I'm a builder and proudly wear my built full size equipment and I've modded a spirit pack for my son and temporarily for our new petite lady GB, but I'm scratching my head on when it suddenly became wrong to strive for accuracy or to have the pride of building your own equipment. Kudos to Spirit for making the equipment available at a low price, but that price is also reflective of quality. The PKE's are well known by Spirit employees to have poor electronics, the packs are small with the stock thrower being even smaller with shoddy electronics, the traps doors are known to malfunction and the goggles are the most heavily modded piece next to the pack. The point is Spirit stuff isn't meant to be prop quality but more a decent looking piece that can get you through a few Halloween get togethers without modding them. I appreciate that they make it easy for people who may n