Write a quick introduction to introduce yourself.
Hello everyone,

My name is Matt Sims and I am a 30-something amateur cosplayer from the Westcountry of England. I am just begun creating my Ghostbusters outfit and it'll be the first time I cosplayed as a Ghostbuster since the late 80s/early 90s with the blue and grey proton pack toys.

This is my first foray into the Ghostbusters franchise but I have experience with making replica stuff from other films and TV show. These other costumes include; Star-Lord (Guardians of the Galaxy), Marty Mcfly (BTTF Pt 2) and Galen Tyrol (Battlestar Galactica).

I often refer to myself as "Researcher, radio presenter and local busy-body" as well as an amateur cosplayer. I've been experimenting with audio and visual mediums for most of my life, recording my own radio shows on cassette as a child, presenting on college radio as a teenager, studying media arts and more recently volunteering on community radio projects. Other interests include obscure genre electronica, cancelled scifi television shows and local politics.

At the moment the plan is just to make the costume with a few props in time for Halloween. The building of a proton pack isn't going to commence until later this year because I'm too busy for time. I can't afford a screen accurate 1:1 fibreglass shell though so I'll be going down n the scratch built route. I am not part of a Ghostbusters "troop" so 100% accuracy isn't required.

I've managed to source some bits already:
  • 40R CWU-27/P flight-suit in Tan
  • "No ghost" embroidered patch sans black border
  • "SIMS" name embroidered name badge in the correct font
  • White pistol belt (which I gather needs to be dyed a very pale grey for greater accuracy)
  • Elbow pads (I managed to find some kickboxing kneepads which look a good match. I'll need to dye them grey though as they are white at the moment)
  • 3D printed leg hose connector