Discuss storylines and progress on fan fiction and other works in progress and post links to your Fan Fiction here on Ghostbusters Fans.
By ZedRage
I make no secret of my dislike of the new movie. As a writer myself, I am downright baffled how anyone could put pen to paper and come up with that script. Some of you liked it, and that's fine. I did not.

And like any true fan, I've had my own idea kicking around in my head for years.
Well, I found my old movie treatment, dusted it off, and polished it up. I re-wrote it with the cast (sort of) of the 2016 movie, and made a real GB3 passing-of-the-torch movie.

I did change a lot about the characters, but mostly to give them greater depth.
And I changed the main focus of the story. It's no longer Erin Gilbert's story. It's Patty Tolan's.

I changed Patty a lot, but not much. I'll explain. She's still basically the same character, but instead of being a history buff because she "watches a lot of documentaries," she's an actual professor a Columbia. She joins the group because the idea of speaking to a person who lived hundreds of years ago intrigues her.

The rest will speak for itself. In a full screenplay, there would be more time and detail devoted to this, but this is a summary. While it's lengthy, it has all the story elements in place.

A subway worker who is overly bored hears a commotion coming from up the tracks. She tries to call over security to check it out, but can’t raise anyone on the radio. Thinking its kids tagging again, she wanders down with a flashlight. As she approaches the darker area, her flashlight goes dead, and all the lights around her go dark. She sees a bright glow, and hears a strange buzzing noise. That’s when there’s a bright light, powerful wind, and we cut to our opening title.