This is for other Ghostbusters Props that don't fit into the categories above.
By jason407
I recently got a 3D printer and have been testing/playing with it.
I looked around for a 3D model of a Lifegard since I don't yet have one of those...but couldn't find one anywhere.
So, I spent the time and mocked one up myself in 3D, based on photos and basic measurements I found in the forums.

Then the long, slow printing process begins. Took about 3hrs I think.

It turned out pretty good in my opinion! I am still learning all the settings and this one I had them a little off, but it is easily salvageable with a little love.

I may have gone a little heavy on the weathering, but I'm ok with that as it helps sell that it's authentic. ;)

I just created a belt clip in the design. I know it's not accurate.

Overall, it was a successful test...and I love my new printer! :)
alphabeta001 liked this
By Borzou
Willing to share the file?
By Alex Newborn
The design of your clip is going to make it ride very low on your belt compared to a real one. The real clip cinches the belt down at the bottom of the Lifegard, making it sit with its base at the lower edge of the belt and the top much higher than the belt.

You may want to check out this thread for some good images of how the original clip works and how to make a fake one from coat hanger wire...

http://www.gbfans.com/community/viewtop ... =7&t=39079

Aside from the placement of the clip, yours is an extremely convincing recreation.

Alex
By jason407
Alex Newborn wrote:The design of your clip is going to make it ride very low on your belt compared to a real one. The real clip cinches the belt down at the bottom of the Lifegard, making it sit with its base at the lower edge of the belt and the top much higher than the belt.

You may want to check out this thread for some good images of how the original clip works and how to make a fake one from coat hanger wire...