By Tommorris22
I wanted to build a pack for my youngest son who is 6 years old. I decided to go with a spirit pack due to cost, size and weight. I showed him some reference photos of different packs and he decided he wanted a GB2 pack.

The most time consuming part of this effort was determining what I was going to change and how I would achieve it. I did this in many steps and changed my mind on some things, which made it take longer than it would have otherwise. Had I known what I know now, I would have approached this more systematically and it would have been more efficient. For example, removing all the portions of the pack that I would replace, at the same time; cutting all the PVC at the same time; cutting all the wood pieces at the same time, etc. I have no experience with projects like this so it was all trial and error.

I started by disassembling the pack; removed the cardboard backing, the stock electronics, lenses, straps, hoses, handles, etc. I removed all the stickers with goo-gone to end up with a bare shell.

Here’s a list of what I used and some measurements..

TOOLS/SUPPLIES:
Cutting surface
Dremel tool
Dremel Accessories:
-Extension
-Stand/Press
-Sanding drums
-Wood cutter
-Thin cutoff wheel
-Metal cutoff wheel
-Grinding bit
60/120/220 sanding sponges
Black milliput
2-part Epoxy (JB Weld)
E600 Glue
Hex key set
Drill/Tap set (4-40,6-32,8-32,10-24, 1/4-20)
Drill (+bits)
Step Bit set
Good scissors
Exacto knife
Screw Drivers
Rivet tool (& assortment of rivets)
Hobby Wood (basswood)
PVC
Circle stencil
Aluminum tubing
Flat aluminum bar
Painters tape

PAINT:
Grey Primer
Metallic Chrome Paint
Orange peel wall texture spray
Clear lacquer
Black Paint
Orange paint
Sliver Rub N’ Buff

PURCHASED ITEMS:
BEN OF KENT:
80% 3D Shock Mount
80% 3D Custom Bumper
80% Metal Ion arm cap
80% Metal Ribbon clamp
80% 3D Booster frame
80% 3D Gun Track
80% 3D Top knob
80% Lenses
80% Scaled Labels

HOBBY LOBBY:
8” Cake Pan

HOME DEPOT:
PVC
2 large brass screws
Cable clamp