By Punk0627
Anyone have any ideas on how to go about modding the walmart trap using an arduino uno. Mainly I was thinking on putting in the proper ghost trap sounds and lights on and inside the trap and pedal eventually. I also would like to put in a barograph and the little LED on the side too. Im fairly new to arduino and coding so my skill level is very novice but I have no intentions in purchasing a kit on eBay. Any help in the right direction would be greatly appreciated
By DarkSpectre
I'd look at what others did for the spirit halloween trap since it's the same, they just added a foot switch. Once I get my new 3d printer set up, I plan to add decorative touches to mine and build a pedal to house the existing one. Looking forward to see what you can do!
By Punk0627
I think I’m going to extend the panels on the trap itself using styrene. I want to replace the battery housing and put it in the boxes in the foot pedal. For the boxes I’ll be using some project boxes I found years ago at radio shack. I think for the exterior details I have a plan, it’s the electronics that will be a bit of an issue. Hopefully everything goes as planned
Chongo913 liked this
By Mathew_impact1
For electronics, first thing to do is mount a proper SPST toggle switch. Have this interrupt a battery wire for a true on off control and save battery wear. The original on/off switch can just be tucked inside out of sight.

Next is a longer cable to the foot switch. I haven't decided if I want the the light on the foot switch to be powered independently from the trap, or powered off the trap. I still haven't been able to find a trap in store. So I haven't probed the wireing yet. But it may be possible with only two or three wires to the peddel. Either way, I'll make the cord detachable. Headphone jacks or tnc connectors would work. Would be easier then building electrical contacts into a Foster pnuematic fitting.