Post pictures up of your Props, or a link to your prop gallery on Ghostbusters Fans.
By Link1985
Hello. I'm working on a trap. I have the electronics together and programmed. I found the sound files for Ghostbusters one when they catch Slimer at the Sedgewick hotel. I just went through my code and commented most of the lines to describe what different lines do. I also linked in the components and where I found them; they are mostly from Adafruit. I will post it here so you can download it and use it as a template. Fair warning, I'm not a programmer, there is some extra stuff in there, and there are probably better/easier ways to do the stuff I did, but it should get you started on a working configuration. I plan on using the 3-D files put out by countspatula on Thingiverse: https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:1394492. I'm getting my 3-D printer early next year, so I'm pretty much at a stopping point until then.
Here's a demo video:
The sound is quiet because I had the speakers turned down, but it can get pretty loud.
Here is the code I use:
Code: Select all
/*************************************************** 
  This is an example for the Adafruit VS1053 Codec Breakout
  Designed specifically to work with the Adafruit VS1053 Codec Breakout 
  ----> https://www.adafruit.com/products/1381
  Adafruit invests time and resources providing this open source code, 
  please support Adafruit and open-source hardware by purchasing 
  products from Adafruit!
  Written by Limor Fried/Ladyada for Adafruit Industries.  
  BSD license, all text above must be included in any redistribution
 ****************************************************/

//This is my code for the ghost trap.  I will comment things to the best of my understanding and include component links so you can replicate my model if you want to.

// include SPI, MP3 and SD libraries.  I'm using this sound shield: https://www.adafruit.com/product/1788
#include <SPI.h>